What Publicists Can Learn From Rick Astley (Valentine’s Edition)

[tweetmeme source=”worob” only_single=false http://www.URL.com]

If you find this blog post cheesy it’s ok, part of me agrees with you. However, in the spirit of Valentine’s Day what better way to discuss a love-themed post than with Rick Astley?

So let me start off by asking you a question: What does dating have in common with clients? Give it a few seconds.. Still nothing? Well, when I think about dating I think about the similarities it has, or should have, with how you treat your clients. Here’s the short list I came up with:

1) You should do whatever it takes to keep them happy
You know the rules and so do I”

2) Keep up the effort and support them in the way you’d want to be supported
“A full commitment’s what I’m thinking of”

3) Don’t go days without calling and checking in
“You wouldn’t get this from any other guy”

4) Always be honest
“I just wanna tell you how I’m feeling”

5) Listen. Listen. Listen.
“Gotta make you understand”

So when dealing with a client, the moral of the story is to treat them like you are dating someone you really like. If you do this, then I’m certain they will never want to give you up. Right, Rick? Click here

Leave a Reply

