Poll: What’s the Current Morale Level of Communications Professionals?

"Oh, you hate your job? Why didn't you say so? There's a support group for that. It's called everybody, and they meet at the bar." - Drew Carey

[tweetmeme source=”worob” only_single=false http://www.URL.com]

Lately I’ve been hearing a lot of discussion regarding employee morale. From ABC News to The Epoch Times to The Seattle Times, everyone seems to be covering this topic and talking about job satisfaction … or lack thereof.

Now, it’s no surprise that in this economy people are not always going to feel hunky dory when raises and/or promotions are few and far between. However, with a U.S. unemployment rate hovering around 10 percent, should those publicists that have jobs accept the current job climate and be thankful they even have somewhere to go each morning?

So I thought we’d try to find out just what the current state of morale is of communications professionals(PR, Marketing, Social Media, Advertising, etc.). Are you happy with your job? Indifferent about it? Frustrated? Looking for a new one? Please watch the following videos and cast your vote below for which best describes your current morale level at work:

Video #1) I Love my job, everything is great, and I’m just “Walking on Sunshine”


I’m walking on sunshine , wooah
I’m walking on sunshine, woooah
I’m walking on sunshine, woooah
and don’t it feel good!!

Video #2) I have a job and can’t really complain. You could say I’m in the “Middle of the Road”


In the middle of the road,
Is my private cul de sac.
I can’t get from the cab to the curb,
Without some little jerk on my back,
Don’t harass me kid,
Can’t you tell I’m going home, I’m tired as hell,
I’m not the cat I used to be,
I’ve got a kid, I’m thirty-three baby.

Video #3) The economy is bad and I need to be patient because “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”


You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
You can’t always get what you want
But if you try sometimes you just might find
You just might find
You get what you need

Video #4) I hate my job and hope someone can help “Get Me Outta Here”


I realize this isn’t a song, but this was too good to pass up

4 comments on “Poll: What’s the Current Morale Level of Communications Professionals?

  1. I love that you used the Rolling Stones suggestion!! It’s a song that has always been a part of my life and always will be. Every time I would complain about something when I was little, my dad would always say (in tune), “Kristin…. you can’t always get what you want.” I remember getting so frustrated when he would sing that phrase; however, as time went on (and I grew up) I realized how truthful the song actually was. You really can’t always get what you want, and at times it’s very frustrating. But everything always works out somehow. Life is funny that way.

Leave a Reply

