Don’t Doubt Yourself When Providing Counsel to Clients

We’ve all faced some form of adversity in our careers. Whether it’s someone telling us we can’t do something or being afraid to challenge a client, it’s not always easy to fight for something we believe in. However, sometimes we need to realize that we do have the ability and experience to defend our judgments to be able to provide the best counsel possible to clients.

A few months ago when I spoke to PR students at West Virginia University, I was more nervous than I wanted to admit. I was afraid I’d be asked a question that I wouldn’t have an answer to and could potentially embarrass myself in front of a room of 50 people. But as I walked through my lecture and began answering students questions, it became clear to me that I knew a lot more than I wanted to give myself credit for. Being on the frontlines interacting with media to writing press releases to participating in client discussions, had equipped me with the key skills needed to help me thrive in this industry and be able to pass my knowledge on to others. 

Now, this doesn’t mean that I know everything there is to know about PR, I don’t, but it was evident that I had to trust myself more and have confidence in myself that I can give a recommendation to a client and be aggressive when needed. Clients won’t always agree with your advice, but as long as you can backup your counsel with specific information and PR intelligence, then you should always push and challenge your clients to do what you think is in their best interest.

4 comments on “Don’t Doubt Yourself When Providing Counsel to Clients

  1. You are right in that sometimes it is hard to trust ourselves. There have been a few times when I had to call a close colleague and say, “Am I crazy for wanting to go this direction?” Having the extra confirmation gives me a little more backbone when methods are debated. Great post

    • Thanks. It’s definitely something we’ve all struggled with, but really, we’re the ones that have the most knowledge of the media and that’s why clients look to us for counsel.

  2. I think this advice transcends career paths…it’s applicable to everyone with a specialized “skill.” I often have to remind myself that (like you said) I definitely don’t know it all, but I know what I know and it’s backed up by experience. I think Marianne Williamson said it best when she said “We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?…” and “Your playing small does not serve the world.”
    Good post!

Leave a Reply

