Being Negative in the Workplace Only Hurts One Person, Yourself

[tweetmeme source=”worob” only_single=false http://www.URL.com]

As I continue to grow in my career, take on different responsibilities, and face new challenges, the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that you can’t let negativity keep you down. Whether it’s being upset over a client issue, or dealing with a difficult colleague, getting all worked up is not going to do you any good in the eyes of your clients or your co-workers.

You know that routine question you get when you go on a job interview? “What’s your greatest weakness?” For me, it’s my passion. I want to learn as much as I can, be involved in as many client matters as possible, and make a name for myself within my agency. But sometimes I let my emotions get the best of me. Not that I get angry and shout in the office, or go to my boss and make demands, but rather there are times where I’ve allowed my own negativity, or the negativity of others, to knock me down and take all of the enthusiasm I have for my work completely out of me. Sometimes it even affects me when I leave the office. This can be very difficult to control at times because when you care so much about what you are doing it’s very easy to get frustrated when things don’t always go your way.

We are never going to be 100 percent satisfied with our jobs, our clients, how much money we make, or how many vacation days we get. But one thing we can do is wake up in the morning, go to work, do the best we can, and leave the office at night knowing that we gave it our all that day. I’m not saying this is going to be easy, it’s not going to be. But I’m trying to make sure each day brings more enjoyment and less negativity.

And lets face it, no matter how bad things may get at times, I know that I’m happy to be employed and to be part of this fascinating industry.

6 comments on “Being Negative in the Workplace Only Hurts One Person, Yourself

  1. Fantastic post, and definitely something I have struggled with throughout my career. Sometimes it is like a roller coaster (or multiple personalities!): Caring so much that you fight for every ounce of your project, being angry, feeling defeated and mentally exhausted, vowing you won’t care ever again, and then repeat from the beginning 🙂

  2. I completely agree! I have this problem sometimes too. When you feel so strongly about something it’s hard to not take negativity really personally. Leaving work every day knowing you did your best can have great fulfillment and give you a sense of pride. What I do to avoid letting negativity get to me is brushing off the negative comments and try to encourage the negative people to see it the way I do. I want everyone to have the passion I have about my work, of course it’s not always going to happen but explaining to them why I am so passionate usually helps both sides understand each other a bit better.

  3. You know, this post came just at the right time. It’s so easy to say “I could’ve done better,” and stress over work not going quite as planned. It’s much harder to admit that maybe I did a decent job, and I’ll just have to pick myself up and work even harder the next time.

    I think it’s the perfectionist in all of us that makes this so difficult! Work won’t be perfect, and my own work will never be perfect (there’s always room for editing!), but staying positive and upbeat has always helped me.

    I’m glad to see this addressed so candidly here. Thanks for a great, inspiring post!

Leave a Reply

