Poll: What Challenges PR Pros The Most?

[tweetmeme source=”worob” only_single=false http://www.URL.com]

"When a man is pushed, tormented, defeated, he has a chance to learn something." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

There has been numerous times over the past few weeks in which I worked on press releases and client plans. Throughout it all I’ve had numerous challenges from coming up with creative event ideas to figuring out how to shape a quote so that it sounds newsworthy enough to generate media interest. Yet despite how many times I wanted to quit and give up, I learned a tremendous amount and believe I’ve come out smarter today than I was two weeks ago.

So with this in mind, I wanted to ask the following poll question:
6 comments on “Poll: What Challenges PR Pros The Most?

  1. In my experience the biggest challenge in the industry has been synergizing backward overflow. I think even the most seasoned pro still has trouble with this. Your thoughts?

  2. I couldn’t agree more with the above comment. Every time I get an assignment that involves synergizing backward overflow I cringe. Now I’m not saying everything else is easy but by gosh I would rather be doing anything than synergizing backward overflow lol. I would say the second biggest challenge I face is managing client expectations. I am constantly reminding clients that there are many other things going on in the world and sometimes the media will ignore them. They never seem to fully grasp this concept 🙂

    • I think the root of the problem in terms of managing client expectations is that some clients do not manage internal expectations well enough. Perhaps when a new client comes on-board we should have a 1-day workshop with all senior management and discuss how PR works, that not everything is newsworthy, etc. What do you think?

  3. A one-day workshop for new clients is a great idea! I wish my clients had their expectations managed from the beginning – like a strong social media presence cannot be built over the weekend.

  4. Pingback: What Do You Want to Know About PR or Social Media? « PR at Sunrise

  5. Pingback: What Do You Want to Know About PR or Social Media? |

Leave a Reply

