There’s No “I” In PR

When I started out in PR, I had an ego as big as anyone (some would argue I still do!). I had a lot of success early on and thought I could do no wrong. I also never took a step back to recognize that I wasn’t always the only person in the room with a tremendous skill-set. Had I realized that at the time, I probably would have been considered a much better team player and not such a talented lone wolf.

I’ve worked at small agencies and large ones and despite how many smart, creative people I’ve been fortunate enough to be around, I used to think I was always the best person for the job. Whether it was a new business assignment or being the point person for a media tour, I wanted the task. However, I wasn’t always the one chosen and had a hard time understanding why that was the case.

At some point I guess I realized that sometimes there are just other people that can do a job better than you, or perhaps might be a better fit for a project at a particular time. That doesn’t mean you’ve been passed over, or don’t necessarily have the proper training to get a job done. It just means you weren’t chosen this time around. Maybe someone else needed the experience and so they were chosen for an assignment? You never know, and that’s why you can’t always take things personally. Sure, you can ask management questions and share with them your disappointment, but an agency/company is not just about one person, it’s about the team, and the sooner you realize this the better off you’ll be.

So the next time you get upset over something, take a step back and remember that you’re an asset to your company and you will have a ton of opportunities to be a part of something great. You just need to think about the whole picture and not just about yourself. I just wish I realized this earlier on in my career.

8 comments on “There’s No “I” In PR

  1. Spot-on thoughts. And thanks for putting something we all have to work through in the PR business (e.g. egos, personalities and our desires to always be the best) in perspective. Like you say, it’s always good to keep things in check, especially since this business can wear you down over time, if you’re not careful. I’ve always tried to live by being a bit on the humble side, even if it means getting overshadowed at times by others, while making sure things get done well, on time and the way that clients and organizations really care about.

    Ultimately, that’s what matters, and at the end of the day, the client or your bosses could care less about massaging your ego. They just want to see results.

  2. good message and this works in any job. Realizing it isn’t about you, it’s about doing a good job and the credit will come. Zelma

  3. I think this is a great topic to bring attention to! I think it’s also important to realize as good as we may think we are in our careers, there’s always room for improvement. I hit a roadblock a few months ago where I felt so comfortable with my skills and didn’t see a need to learn more… boy, was I wrong! There’s always something else to learn – we just need to seek it out and make it a priority from time to time.

  4. Pingback: Check your ego and be a team player » Craig Sirois

Leave a Reply

