Are There Too Many PR Blogs And News Sites To Keep Up With? No!

Add to: Facebook | Digg | Del.icio.us | Stumbleupon | Reddit | Blinklist | Twitter | Technorati | Yahoo Buzz | Newsvine

PR pros and students should treat the plethora of news blogs and websites like a sponge and soak everything up

Originally, when I asked last week’s poll question asking all of you to vote for your favorite outlet to gather PR news and information, I thought it would be fun to find out which were the most popular. But I then realized that the poll was about a whole lot more than just what our favorite and least favorite outlets are. It should have been more of celebration of these great resources.

When I took a step back after releasing the poll, I realized just how many valuable news outlets and opinion pages exist and we should all embrace every single one of them. We are all going to have our favorite site,s and certainly some outlets provide more regular content than others, but I can’t say that I’ve ever read an article on a blog/outlet that didn’t make me think about something … that I didn’t learn from.

So what’s my point? My point is that we should soak up as much information as humanly possible. There are so many outlets that are providing unbelievably helpful information, FOR FREE, and they are designed to help us learn more and continually educate us on the happenings within our industry.

The poll should not have been written as a popularity contest. In this poll everyone was a winner. So I’d like to apologize on the way it was presented and instead say “THANK YOU” to every blog, outlet, site, etc. that provides information for PR pros and students alike. I will keep reading each and every one of them because they all help feed my hunger for knowledge and prepare me to do my job better.

Related Articles:

16 comments on “Are There Too Many PR Blogs And News Sites To Keep Up With? No!

  1. I absolutely agree with you and I am constantly trying to read every PR blog I find. This helps me to stay current with news in the field, as well as to gather new ideas and get informed about best practices. All the information you and other PR colleagues provide is really helpful and highlighting important issues in public relations. It’s great to gather international concepts, thoughts and ideas and to apply them at local level in your everyday work.

    Wish you all the best,
    Petya
    @pgeorgieva

  2. That was my quandry in replying to your poll– it’s difficult to define where I get my PR news from because it get it from so many different sources! I agree, it’s great to have more blogs and sites than less because that way, there is more diversity in opinion and better discussions. I count PR at Sunrise among my top favorites 🙂

  3. Great post! As a PR student I absolutely love keeping up with blogs. Classes are very theory driven, which has its own value, but blogs are where people discuss their real world experiences. Sometimes I think I’ve learned more applicable PR practices/insights from following the right people on Twitter and reading their blogs than I have from my comm classes.

    I love that Twitter was the “winner” in your poll. That platform really combines most sites and links to thousands of blogs. The amount of content that can be found through Twitter is really unbelievable and sometimes overwhelming.

    • Classes, blogs, etc. are definitely important, but getting real-life experience is probably the biggest thing that will help your career. Get as many internships as possible!

      Thanks, Lindsey

  4. I completely agree – we are sooo fortunate in the abundance of FREE information we have at our fingertips! At times it can be rather overwhelming, but it’s great knowing we have so many resources we can easily and quickly turn to to educate ourselves, network with others, and simply learn new things!

  5. “My point is that we should soak up as much information as humanly possible.”

    I can’t agree. I believe that absorbing information at that rate would immediately overload the thought processes necessary to identify the credibility and accuracy of the information being absorbed, as well as reduce the amount of effort available to move information to the “next levels” of knowledge and wisdom.

    I recommend for folks to apply the Pareto Principle to their information gathering. Focus on the sources of information and the types of information that make an actual difference in your life. Do this for at least 10 areas of your life, or subjects you’re interested in, and you’ll undoubtedly have enough breadth to cross-pollinate ideas from these different areas among themselves.

    That said, you’re post is overall exactly on point. Thanks for the thought-provocation! 😀

    • I guess I wasn’t trying to say to soak everything in all at once. I was just trying to say that with so many great resources out there that we should take the time to check them out, find out the most valuable ones for us, etc.

      Appreciate the comments and insight into the Pareto Principle, Glenn!

  6. I have always been curious about whether or not there were too many PR blogs floating around the internet. As a PR student, I am experiencing the importance of blogging and quickly finding the benefits that come along with it. Blogs are great ways to find imformation abot the PR world and what real PR practitioners are doing out there. Although I’m bad at keeping up with blogging myself, I have found myself reading many more than I ever have in the past. Great blog- I’ll be sure to pass this on to my fellow PR friends!

  7. Pingback: In my opinion… « Alicia's Blog

  8. Pingback: How to Use Tags and Categories on your Blog | PR at Sunrise

Leave a Reply

