An Inside Look at the Person Behind PR at Sunrise

The following is a list of sad, but true facts about Andrew Worob..

–  I’ve been known to perform 90s rap songs during karaoke.

– Rollerblading is still a hobby of mine.

– I know every state capital. Even the hard ones.

– While I’m not a fan of how he represents himself off-camera, Tom Cruise is far and away (no pun intended) my favorite actor and Top Gun is the best movie ever made. Yes, you read that right.

– I’ve been teaching myself to play electric guitar for about four years. When I say “teaching” I mean playing a few notes to my favorite songs every now and then.

– My first job was at McDonald’s. Would you like fries with that?

– I used to wear an earring. A diamond in fact. I’ll thank you not to laugh at this embarrassing fact.

– My favorite bands/musicians are all from the 80s and 90s: Guns N’ Roses, Van Halen, Gin Blossoms, Bon Jovi, and Phil Collins.

– I’m a die-hard sports fan who has spent many long, hard years rooting for the Mets, Jets, Knicks, New York Rangers, and West Virginia Mountaineers.

– How do I choose topics to blog about? I look around online to see what’s happening in the world of PR, I’ll think about things that happen in everyday life and see if there’s a PR idea in there, etc.

– I had to sell my 2002 Pontiac Firebird (with T-tops, tints and 10 speaker sound system!) a few years ago when I moved into NYC.

– My favorite TV shows are Seinfeld and Curb Your Enthusiasm.

– I’ve lived in New York, West Virginia, and Florida.

Now it’s YOUR turn. Please leave comments below and let me know about who YOU are!

23 comments on “An Inside Look at the Person Behind PR at Sunrise

  1. You forgot to mention that, given any word in the English dictionary, you have a keen ability to pronounce it backwards without hesitation. How many people can do that?

  2. My first job was breadstick girl at Fazoli’s, which is Italian Fast Food in the Midwest. The chain has unlimited breadsticks for eat-in guests… and I delivered them with a smile. Not quite McDonald’s, but the smell of garlic butter still brings me back. Come visit RF in Chicago for more embarrassing tidbits!

  3. Great point about blogging– let your personality come through every now and then, and it will create better connections with your audience as a result.

    Here are a few of my sad but true facts (similar to a few of yours!) — I can do Tom Jones’ “Delilah” on karaoke *without* the screen; my first job was at Hardee’s; I listen to old school punk music; I love classic horror films; I can quote the entire “Jaws” movie; I am a total fangirl for Mystery Science Theatre 3000 and the WWE. I’ll stop now before I lose anyone’s respect… 😉

  4. Nice to meet you Andrew. Let’s see. I love Muse. I love singing at extreme volumes in the car or shower. I roll my eyes at silly people. A lot. I love cheese. I cannot swim, despite growing up in the Caribbean on an island. I also hate fish, despite living on an island. lol. I studied both at undergrad and at postgrad in towns with the same name but in totally different countries. I did not plan it that way. I tend to watch movies that make me bawl. I love reality tv…I admit it.

    • Unfortunately most (if not all) of the songs I rap to include profanity, so I’ve been hesitant to post those. However, I could put my own ‘spin’ on them so that the rap doesn’t include those words 🙂

  5. Love, love, love it! I’m pretty sure I dated some dudes in college with the same musical and fashion choices ;-). I’ll admit to buying a jumbo can of hairspray every week to keep my big coiffure from flattening. And, let’s just say that if white high-heeled shoes and lacy bobby socks never come back in style, I won’t be too upset LOL!

  6. Its so nice to ‘get to know’ you a little better Andrew! I love these kinds of posts.

    About me…mmmm…I can tell you that I didnt set out to be a marketer. In fact, my father is a marketer and my mother is a CPA and I was rebellious against following in either of their footsteps for 2 reasons: 1) I wanted to pave my own way and be something completely different (in fact, I wanted to be a coroner almost my whole life but was talked out of it) and 2) I didnt want to be like my parents (I see now how wonderful and hardworking they both are and strive to be just like them everyday of my life). But alas, after trying almost every job you can possibly imagine including a door-to-door salesperson (yes, outside, like at your front door), a phonebook delivery person and a Dunkin Donuts drive-thru girl, I am a marketer and really excited to be here!

  7. Pingback: PR and Social Media Bloggers Are Educators, Not Magicians « PR at Sunrise

Leave a Reply

