Top 10 Quotes from “Top Chef” That Have Hidden PR Meanings

10. “Don’t send out a dish that is not ready.” – PR Translation (what this quote would mean in PR terms): Don’t send materials to a client if they are done half-assed.

9. Stand behind your dish.” – PR Translation: Believe in your client counsel and stick to it.

8. “I am 30-years-old and I have to sleep in the bunky beds.” PR Translation: I have to share a hotel room with a co-worker on a client trip because my client won’t spend the extra money to get me my own room.

7. “Hootie Hoo!” – PR Translation: I just got a great media opp!

6. “I’m not here to make friends, I’m here to win.” – PR Translation: Reporters may think I’m annoying at times, but at the end of the day they still quote my clients in their stories.

5. “This is Top Chef, not Top Scallop!” – PR Translation: This is a big-time agency, not a one-trick pony.

4. “That dish was so ugly it doesn’t even deserve to be prison food.” – PR Translation: That media pitch was awful. Even an intern wouldn’t write it this poorly.

3. “I am front of the house. We can serve monkey-ass and empty clam shell and we will win.” – PR Translation: It doesn’t matter what the client is trying to sell. we will promote the hell out of their product.

2. “I’m not your bitch, bitch!” – PR Translation: I have a life and I’m not going to be available 24/7.

And the no. 1 quote from Top Chef that can be translated to have meaning for PR Pros..

1. “Please pack your knives and go.” – PR Translation: The client is firing us.

Related Posts

9 comments on “Top 10 Quotes from “Top Chef” That Have Hidden PR Meanings

  1. This is one of the best blog I read all day and month so far. There are so true and I watch Top Chef, so I can easily relate and remember most of the quotes and you just reminded me my top fav Angelo is eliminated. SO WRONG!!!

  2. Haha! So funny, and true! Just shared it with my Estonian PR rockstars group on FB 😉 I’ve been on total cooking mood lately, watching Ramsay’s shows and started a cooking blog. This post by you was right in the bullseye for me today 😉

  3. Pingback: Basic HTML Skills Every PR Professional Should Have « PR at Sunrise

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Ways to Succeed in PR « PR at Sunrise

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Reasons Why Being a PR Pro is One of the Toughest Jobs You Could Have « PR at Sunrise

Leave a Reply

