Why is Communication Important? It’s Not Always An Easy Answer

As an aspiring professional and hard-working student, in a field that is entirely based off of communication, one would assume that the question “Why is communication important?” would be the easiest question to answer.

During this semester, I have two PR courses as well as jobs both with the PR department for my university, and for the town in which my school is located.

So when my boss asked me to make an introduction to the people I’d be working with and to include a brief description of why communication is important to a company, I thought I’d have no problem doing so.

However, I found myself stumbling around with it at work last week.

I began with what I knew right off the top of my head, “The departments here need to know each other and what the job description of each department is. It’s important that they have an understanding of who does what, what they’re currently doing, and why.”

I was pretty satisfied with this answer, until my boss replied, “Yes, but why? Why is that important?” I drew a blank. So I sat back down and racked my brain for a deeper explanation. To my boss’s satisfaction, this is what I came up with:

  • Communication reduces the stress-level within the workplace
  • Communication improves relationships between co-workers
  • Communication improves the quality of work
  • Communication allows for better monitoring of progress

Have you ever drawn a blank to this type of question? How would you have responded? What would you add to this list I came up with?

About the Author
Christina Starr is a frequent contributor to PR at Sunrise. She is currently a senior at Indiana University of Pennsylvania and will graduate in December with a bachelor’s degree in journalism with a concentration in public relations. Connect with her on LinkedIn or Twitter via @c_c_starr.

 

Related Articles

3 comments on “Why is Communication Important? It’s Not Always An Easy Answer

  1. One item left off this list is: Good communication facilitates the accomplishment of an organization’s stated objectives

  2. It’s funny how we’re in the business of communications yet we can’t articulate what we do or its significance ourselves! This is a great, thought-provoking post, Christina. I might add that communications fosters the company culture and is necessary to give employees a sense of belonging wtih the organization (from a purely internal perspective).

Leave a Reply

